8-30th of October


And the main prize goes to!.. the best film in the festival’s competition programme, which is selected by an international jury. The jury consists of various film industry professionals, filmmakers, other members of the film community and cultural figures, who change every year.

Each member of the jury brings with them a unique perspective and range of experience. The task of suggesting candidates for the jury is entrusted to the organisers of that year’s festival programmes and the festival director.

Lina Lužytė

Lina Lužytė is a film director from Lithuania. In 2011, she graduated from the Lithuanian Academy of Music and Theatre with an MA in Film Directing and has numerous writing and directing credits for both feature and documentary films.
Her graduation short film It Would Be Splendid, Yet…(2009) was awarded The International Baltic Competition Grand Prix at Short FF 2ANNAS (Latvia), the Grand Prix at Monaco Charity FF (2010) and several other festivals. Lužytė’s documentary film Igrushki (2012) won The Best Documentary Film Award at International Documentary Film Festival CineDOC Tbilisi and her first feature Together For Ever.
(2016) premiered in Karlovy Vary Film Festival.  Since 2010 Lina has also been a part of a documentary project called “199 Little Heroes.”

Erik Winker

Erik Winker has been working in the field of documentary for over 20 years. He is one of three CEO´s of the production company CORSO Film, which has been awarded the Camera Award at Sundance, the Prize of the Semaine de la Critique Locarno or three nominations for the European Film Awards.
Erik is working as a tutor for international workshops like ESoDoc, Dok.Incubator, Ex Oriente and Documentary Campus and is a regular member in festival and funding juries. He´s a former chairman of the regional filmmaker´s association Filmbüro NW, a member of the German Film Academy and a founding member of the Documentary Association of Europe (DAE). In 2021/2022 he´s been a stand-in professor for documentary department at the University Of Applied Sciences Mainz.

Ulrika Bandeira

Ulrika Bandeira has been the Program Director at Tempo Documentary Festival since 2019, the most prominent Swedish festival for documentary filmmaking. She has previously  worked at the Swedish Film Institute  and SVT and is one of the directors  of the award-winning short film  JUCK. She was also the chairperson for the network Festival Centrum.

Virpi Suutari

Virpi Suutari is a Finnish documentary film director and writer. She worked as the artistic director of the DocPoint festival (2008). Virpi Suutari received three Jussi Awards (The National Film Academy Award) for Best Documentary, three Best Nordic Documentary Awards at Nordisk Panorama and nomination for the Best European documentary. Her documentary Aalto (2020) won the Jussi Awards for Best Music and Editing. Virpi Suutari is an Honorary Doctor of Art of the University of Lapland.


All sponsors